Leading the development of safer, more comfortable and easier to access homes for everybody.

To do that we


Certify that a home is easier to access, navigate and live in, and that it is cost effective to adapt as life’s circumstances change.


Educate through a program of professional accreditation that provides assurance for industry and the community as they seek informed advice.


Advocate for policy and regulation that supports industry and professional leadership.

Livable Housing Australia

Established in 2011, Livable Housing Australia is a not-for-profit partnership between community and consumer groups, government and industry, brought together to lead the development of safer homes that are easier to access for everybody.

Founded from the National Dialogue on Universal Housing Design, the LHA Livable Housing Guidelines developed through this partnership define agreed best practice standards, providing a common language and reference point for livable housing in design and construction.

Certification of homes by Livable Housing Australia against these Guidelines, supported by a network of registered LHA Assessors, provides assurance that a home is easier to access, navigate and live in and that it is cost-effective to adapt as life’s circumstances change.

Livable Housing Design

The LHA Livable Housing Guidelines provide Australia’s only best practice guidelines for livable housing agreed in partnership between community, consumer groups, government and industry. The certification of a home to a Silver, Gold or Platinum Level under the guidelines ensures that these standards have been met through the home’s design and construction.

Only LHA Design Guideline Assessors registered with LHA can assess a Design or an As-Built house as meeting the LHA Silver, Gold or Platinum Levels.

Only dwellings with Design or Final-As-Built Certification and registered with LHA can be assigned the use of an LHA Silver, Gold or Platinum logo.  These dwellings can then be marketed as being livable to future home buyers.

SDA Design Standard

Through our advocacy, LHA informs and supports the National Disability Insurance Scheme Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) Design Standard. LHA was engaged by NDIS and developed the standalone SDA Design Standard and the certification model that are now required for SDA.

The SDA Design Standard is critical in supporting the delivery of accommodation for people who require specialist housing solutions, including assisting with the delivery of supports that cater to their extreme functional impairment or very high support needs.

Corporate Supporters

Major Industry Supporters

Community Supporters

Training Provider

australian institute