LHA Silver

Seven core livable housing design elements.

LHA Silver Level focuses on the key structural and spatial elements that are critical to ensure future flexibility and adaptability of the home. LHA Silver level is based on the seven core livable housing design elements. Incorporating these features will avoid more costly home modifications if required at a later date.

LHA acknowledges that the core design elements do not necessarily accommodate the needs and abilities of all home occupants. However, they are considered to be of most widespread benefit and use in the majority of circumstances.

Importantly, by including the core livable housing design elements, home occupants are provided with the opportunity to reduce or avoid costs associated with retrofitting a home to improve access in the future, should it be required.

The seven core design elements in the LHA Silver Level are:

  1. A safe continuous and step free path of travel from the street entrance and / or parking area to a dwelling entrance that is level.

  2. At least one, level (step-free) entrance into the dwelling.

  3. Internal doors and corridors that facilitate comfortable and unimpeded movement between spaces.

  4. A toilet on the ground (or entry) level that provides easy access.

  5. A bathroom that contains a hobless shower recess.

  6. Reinforced walls around the toilet, shower and bath to support the safe installation of grabrails at a later date.

  7. Stairways are designed to reduce the likelihood of injury and also enable future adaptation.
australian institute